Wilderness Road
Donations for Improvement

©Illinois Trails History and Genealogy

Colonel John Logan and Colonel James Knox, having consented to act as commissioners to direct and supervise the making and opening a road from Crab Orchard to Powell's Valley, provided funds to defray the necessary expenses shall be procured, we, the subscribers, do therefore severally engage to pay the sum annexed to our names to the Hon. Harry Innis and Colonel Levi Todd, or to their order, in trust, to be by them applied to the payment of the reasonable expenses which the said commissioners may incur in carrying the above design into effect, also to the payment of such compensation to the said commissioners for their services as the said Innis and Todd may deem adequate.

These monies subscribed were disbursed by Harry Innis. Men were employed as road cutters, as surveyors, to carry provisions, to grind corn and collect bacon. The pay was two shillings sixpence per day, and the work extended over twenty-two days in the summer of 1792.

The legislature of Kentucky very promptly, upon the establishment of the State, gave attention to this great highway, and for many years thereafter it was a beaten thoroughfare, by which traders with droves of stock found their way to the Carolinas.

The first legislative act touching the subject was in 1793. Its object was to make provision for guarding the road. It provided that, whereas it has been judged expedient to enlist men to garrison the block houses on the Wilderness Road, the men so enlisted were allowed the additional pay which is allowed to the State militia when called into the service of the United States.

In 1794 an act was passed appointing commissioners to raise a fund for clearing a road from Madison Courthouse to Hazel patch, where it would intersect the road leading from Crab Orchard to Powell's Valley.

Issac Shelby

Robert Breckinridge

George Nicholas

Henry Pawling

John Brown

James Brown

Alexander S. Bullitt

William McDowell

Edward S. Thomas

Joseph Crockett

William King

William Montgomery Jr.

John Hawkins

Samuel Woods

Hubbard Taylor

Thomas Todd

William Steele

James Trotter

Joseph Gray

Joshua Hobbs

Robert Todd

Jesse Cravens

David Knox

Thomas Lewis

Samuel Taylor

John McKinney

Nicholas Lewis

Jacob Froman

Richard Young

James Davies

Robert Patterson

Robert Mosby

John Watkins

Matthew Walton

John Jouett

Robert Abel

John Wilson

Richard Taylor

Arthur Fox

John Caldwell

George Thompson

Baker Ewing

Abe Buford

Willis Green

William Montgomery Sr.

Morgan Forbes

Daniel Hudgins

Samuel Grundy

James Hays

James Edwards

William Campbell

David Stevenson

Hugh Logan

Peter Troutman

Thomas Montgomery

John Vauhn

Elijah Cravens

Richard Chapman

James Sutton

Joseph Lewis

William Baker

Richard Jackman

Jonathan Forbes

Isaac Hite

John Blane

Abraham Hite

John Caldwell

Peyton Short

George M. Bedinger

Alexander D. Orr

Philip Caldwell

Cornelius Beatty

Nathaniel Hart

John Grant

Andrew Holmes

Alexander Parker

Robert Barr

James Parker

Thomas Kennedy

William Live

George Teagarden

George Muter

James Hughes

Buckner Thruston

John Moylan

Samuel McDowell

James Parberry

Joseph Reed

William Perrett

John Robinson

John Wilkins

William Whilley

Henry Clark

Hardy Rawles

James Young

John Warren

Peter Sidebottom

John Willey

Moses Collier

Abraham Himberlin

Alexander Blane

John Jones

Levi Todd

Thomas Ball

Thomas Barber

William Crow

David Rice

John Rochester

Green Dorsey

John Cochran

David Gillis

William Petty

John Warren

William Kenton

Philip Bush Jr.

John Rogers

Samuel G. Keen

Patrick Curran

John Reedyun

Daniel Barber

Philip Yeiser

Return To The Northwest Territory